Hat’s all folks!

Well, I think we can all agree on one thing. I suck at lighting pictures. Mind you, these were taken rather late last night in an effort to get them up. And those of you who are taking my Mini Topper class at the Quilt Festival this year will get to see them in person, so it’s probably no big deal.

Hey at least you guys get to see that I’ve actually been working; although, the plaid hat was done some time ago.

(I have also put them in my Flickr gallery to the right with more views of the back and details.)

 I love the feathers on this hat. I had a bunch of experimental shaped feathers lying around and I didn’t want to just toss them away, so I put them all on one hat. It looks a bit like a feather jungle, but I think it works.

 The fabric on this one was driving me crazy. It took the dye beautifully, but it has a bit of stretch in it, so when it was sewn together, the stitches pulled a little. I think it still works. I also beaded the glitzy medallion.

This one is a bit Willy Wonka for me, but I think it shows proof of concept. I gathered and pleated the silk to get the wrinkled effect then paired it with a goofy stripe I had lying around. It’s a bit cartoony, but still fun.

 My mourning topper! I wanted to one that was very serious. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! It is a bit funereal, but the hat pins on the side give it more of an edge I think.

This is an example of a boater style that can be accomplished using the same millinery techniques.

This hat was done a while ago to test a construction technique.

OK, that’s all for now. I have some more posts lined up so his blog can get some more love. If you all have questions or comments please let me know!

 Hugs, G

One thought on “Hat’s all folks!

Leave a Reply

