Button, Button: The Third

So, I see you’ve returned…

Now that the organza is stretched and my circle is drawn, I am ready to bead.

I start with the outer edge because it gives me a barrier I know I can’t bead out of .

Now, I am in no way, shape or form a beading instructor. I bead the way I do because of how I was taught. If you are interested in learning how to do basic bead embroidery, I suggest you check out this list of YouTube videos from Beadoholique.  They show you how to do each step.

Because the seed beads are so small, you can do all kinds of patterns on the surface. They can be organized or, like I did, totally random.

We’re going to pretend you watched me bead furiously for an hour aaaaand…

Voila! The finished beading! (Actually, it only took about half a Saturday to finish all of the buttons I had to make – from start to finish.)

You see the white line around the beading? That is the cutting line for organza. I used the same two inch diameter as the fabric circle. But if you were using very bulky fabric, you could make it slightly smaller so the edges are graded. Just make sure to center the beading.

Here are all four button tops ready to go.

All cut out…

At this point I have hand basted around the organza circle.

Just like before, draw up the gathers and secure the thread tightly.

This is the top of the button once it has been gathered up and secured.

The side view. Ignore my cuticles.

All of them done!

You’ll notice that there is still some space on the buttons where they are not beaded. At this point I went back with more beads and filled in all of the gaps around the edges.

Here is one of the finished ones. You can keep going with the beads all you want, but since these were going to be sewn down, I didn’t really feel the need to do the vertical sides. I did end up giving it a picot edge (few pictures down), but the sides remained bare.

Side view of basic button with unbeaded sides

And the rear end…

Here is the picot edge I did for them.

I should have been a hand model.

You can see the edge better here.

The seed beads I used are not Delicas. They are mainly for sewing purposes or beaded fringe, so they are not all even in size.

This works to your advantage and can be very frustrating at the same time.

The picot edge is a bit varied, but it fits in with the nature of the garment.

All four of them beaded with picot edges!

Here are a couple of close-ups.

FINALLY! Sewn to the jacket front!

I used a running back stitch through all thicknesses of the front and button, keeping the facing free.

I used a fine-gauge millinery needle because it was longer than a normal sharp. The stitches run under the beads on the surface of the button.

Because the beading is so dense, you’ll never see them – just use matching thread. The end result is a very secure stitch.

Tighter shot of the front. Please ignore the fact that the front is not pressed.

Well, that’s it kittens.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the tour.

Let me know, in the comments section, if you have any questions.

Hugs and bunnies,

Gilbert

One thought on “Button, Button: The Third

  1. I have really enjoyed reading your tutorial and am going to be making some of these lovely buttons. I can’t wait to see this garment! The sneak preview is SO intriguing! And YES, you certainly should have been a hand model!

Leave a Reply

