Chapeaux Galore!

Well, I think we can all agree on one thing: I suck at photography.

Also, to my friend Kevin, sorry for the Pier I head.

OK, without further ado, here are your 2013 example hats for my fascinator class at Houston Quilt Fest.
Any of these hats are completely doable after taking his class; I’ll be teaching all of these techniques. Although, the fabric choices and trims that are going to be provided in class will be different.

Let me know if you have any questions in the comment section.

Hat 1:

This is a silk/rayon velvet base with hand dyed, hand embroidered shisha and confetti veiling. it is secured to the head with a raised wire and headband.

Hat 2:

This is a devore, silk velvet base with tulle and netting poofs, feather clusters, flat,silk dupioni bow, wired jewel and plain veiling. It is secured to the head with barbed elastic.

Hat 3:

Wool suiting base with purchased flower, hat pins and horsehair crin. It is secured to the head with barbed elastic.

Hat 4:

Hand painted silk base with silk organza poof, raised, shaped still feathers, wired jewel and confetti veiling. It is secured to the head with a loose headband.

Hat 5:

Wedding hat with frayed, self fabric gathers, wired jewel and plain veiling. It is secured to the head with a raised, wired headband.

Hat 6:

Hand dyed silk taffeta base with fabric “feathers” and fabric flower. It is secured to the head with barbed elastic.

Thanks for looking!

G

6 thoughts on “Chapeaux Galore!

    • How fun! And no, I’m providing the project supplies for the class. The only things you need to bring are the things listed in the class catalog: fabric scissors, thimble and something to take notes on if you want.

  1. I took your fascinator class in Houston and finished mine last night. I wore it around the house for at least an hour! It’s joined my two vintage hats on display in my studio, but I WILL find an occasion to wear it! Thank you for a fabulous class!
    from Brett in Laramie, Wyoming

Leave a Reply

