Work in progress

Wow, it has been too long since I’ve been here! With the holidays and gift-making, I haven’t had time to update this blog as much as I want.

Let’s see… what’s new?

I sent in some proposals for next year’s Houston Quilt Fest, so let’s hope they get approved.

I finally got to organize my work space the way it needs to be organized. It’s still a mess, but at least I know where everything is.

I got to start and almost finish my submission for the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Fest.

It’s called Diamond Nightfall.

Originally, this piece was going to be insanely bright colors with lots of tassels and glitz, but something happened on the way to the sewing machine. I knew the overall design was going to be done in hand-overdyed, commercial, black and white prints, but when I went to layer them against the colors I had chosen, the effect was tacky and jarring. I ended up switching the base color to solid, black, Burma silk and did the quilting in a matching thread. Let me tell you, black on black quilting is like sewing in the dark with a blindfold on! Black is also damn-near impossible to photograph. We know I suck at photography anyway, so this year’s submission photos should be EXTRA fun!

Here are some pics of the in-progress pieces pinned to the mannequin:

IMG_1567

These are some sew-on embellishments that I made from some beads that a dear friend gave me. I love being able to incorporate things like jewelry making into my garments.
IMG_1569

IMG_1570

The diamonds are fusible (Misty Fuse) applique.IMG_1571

I’m not sold on the stripes on the lapel though. I might just go for a solid black in a slightly different sheen for visual interest. Hmmm…

My finishing goal is January 5th, so keep those fingers crossed I make it.

I’m also working on the pattern and planning for my 2014 Houston piece. It is proving to be A LOT of work, but I like where it’s going.

OK, as soon as I can get more accomplished, I’ll post it for you guys. Spring Haute Couture week happens at the end of January, so I’ll get on that too.

Leave a Reply

