Pockets! Pocket! Pockets!

When I started this project, I didn’t know how involved it would become. I spent hours on each of these pockets, not to mention the patternmaking, quilting and sewing that constructed the entire look.

I hope I have done justice to the women who inspired these pockets. I have to say that I really did enjoy making all of them. I think I have found out that I really love

I am going to present the pockets in small groups so I can focus on the construction and techniques I used on each. If you need some backstory on where this project began, check out this link to the original idea.

And as always, my pictures suck.

Let’s start with the last pocket I made.

IMG_1751

IMG_1750

I have a friend who is a former student of mine. She is very much the kind of person who dances to the beat of her own drummer. Her name is Kiki Maroon. She is a producer, promoter and burlesque performer. When I designed her pocket, I couldn’t think of anything more telling of her personality than the basic shape of the ultimate tease – pasties! Because of her lively persona, I used the most colorful embellishments I could think of. The center of the pocket is shisha embroidery and it’s surrounded by bright sequins and crystals. Because of the nature of pasties, I needed to add a tassel, but this tassel is adorned with handmade polymer clay beads cover in glitter.  Now, I’m not saying that I pinned this pocket to my shirt and tested out the tassel to make sure it works, but let’s just say it works.

I hope this next pocket is not too baaaaaaad.

IMG_1736

I probably don’t have to tell you all that this pocket belongs to one of my dearest friends, MULTIPLE award winning quilter, Janet Stone.  Janet loves sheep. She’s used them as motifs in her quilts for a while now and does them so very well. I wanted to really convey the idea of a fluffy ewe so I went back to a technique that I hadn’t used on a long time – needle-punch embroidery.  This version is a bit more refined because I used single strand embroidery floss and a very fine needle.  Janet’s other love is the alphabet, but I really didn’t want to use a commercial print to convey this so I painted my own alphabet print on hand dyed fabric. I used a set of paper crafting letter stamps and stamped them in ProChemical fabric paints. I love this technique because you can create any scale of print you want based on the size of the stamp.

The edge of the binding is stitched with vintage bugle and seed beads. The sequins have an iridescent face and a grid pattern overlay. I’ve had them for a while now and could never find the correct project for them.  I love this pocket and will have to hire a guard to prevent Janet from cutting the pocket off and framing it.

 IMG_1742

I blame my new obsession with graph paper on the inspiration for this pocket, Sherry Reynolds.  I met Sherry on the night her quilt America: Let it Shine took home Best of Show at the international Quilt Festival a couple of years ago. I once described her as “the best kind of crazy” and I can’t think of anything more appropriate for someone who drafts some of the most complexly geometric quilt patterns ever, by hand. I thought I would give her pocket the same kind of shape that sections of her quilts take, but rather than use the millions of pieces she does, I thought I’d blow up the smallest detail that defines her quilts and highlight the simplicity that her designs yield. I used hand dyed china silk and lurex-shot cotton for the piecing and holographic sequins, milky crystals and hot-fix crystals as the embellishments.  The center is embellished with a silk yo-yo and stacked sequins. This was the first time I have ever quilted China silk and I think I’m hooked.

OK, that’s all for now folks.

I’ll be back soon with more pocket goodness.

One thought on “Pockets! Pocket! Pockets!

  1. This must have come out last week when I was in New Hampshire…..omg….these are amazing and I am just so happy to be one of your pockets with all these other pocket friends….your attention to detail is crazy amazing….

Leave a Reply

