Updates and What-not

I apologize for not getting back to this blog sooner, but I’ve been kinda busy.

 I know it’s rather late, but hey, I sometimes don’t see friends until May and still say it to them, so there!

Secondly, I had a great time at the Houston Quilt Festival in November. My piece, Zapped!, took home first place in the Wearable Art division. I really wasn’t expecting this, but was very happy with the outcome.

1236783_509627345791087_2111674957_n

This victory comes with a bitter chaser though, as the International Quilt Association has discontinued the Wearable Art division for the Houston Quilt Festival.
Apparently there were fewer and fewer entries each year, and they either fiscally or promotionally couldn’t sustain the division any more.

I find this to be a sad barometer on the state of wearable art today.
I know I always tried to represent couture and its subsets as often as I could at the Houston Quilt Festival, but apparently, one man’s pursuit of a dying art isn’t going to be enough to save it.

I have competed with some amazing people in Houston: Jennifer Bernard, Rami Kim, Kathy Knapp, and Philipa Naylor, just to name a few. These are all exceptional designers and I will miss seeing their beautiful work in Houston.

I guess I can’t really complain that the division has been dissolved though; I had a great run while it lasted. I took home three first place wins and one Honorable Mention there. The fact that my garment will forever be the last first place winner both tickles and saddens me.

The Mancuso Group have two wonderful Wearable Art divisions at their Pacific and Mid-Atlantic shows. These two shows are where I will be showcasing my new pieces, if they are accepted into their respective shows.

For the current Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival, I have submitted my entry, Entropy. It is a hand, discharge-dyed, pinwale corduroy vest with tails. All of the buttons and motifs were hand beaded and based on vintage jewelry. I really wanted the embellishments to blend into the background a quietly as possible, so I kept them all concentrated on the collar.

Speaking of embellishments, I am currently working on an article for Threads magazine. It should be on newsstands sometime in the fall/winter.
I’ll let you know more as soon as possible.

I have also proposed a few classes for the 2015 Houston Quilt Festival. A fascinator class, a bound buttonhole/ welt pocket class and a polymer clay button class. As there is no longer a visible, Wearables division, I’m not sure how these proposals will be viewed. I should find out whether they made the cut in early February.

I have also been working on a secret project that will debut in April. As soon as I get all my ducks in a row, I will let you all in on the surprise.

OK, that’s all I have for you guys now.

I am going to TRY to get some tutorials and nonsense up soon. I have a TON of samples to make in the near future so look for some tips and tricks for making stuff, soon. Confused? ME TOO!

Haute Couture week is wrapping up soon so look for my season wrap-up to hit by the end of the week.

Questions? Lemmie know.

If you are interested in the Mancuso group of shows, you can find out about them here.

One thought on “Updates and What-not

  1. I am very disappointed about IQA’s decision. I so enjoyed seeing the whole wearable art part of the show, which just happened to be right across the aisle from my quilt Sky Horse, so I had a lot of time to admire all the beautiful pieces there. Congratulations again on that wonderful win. I am very delighted you will be entering your work in Mid Atlantic, because I usually go, weather and all other things permitting. I also had plans to make a wearable art piece every now and then, but I already know I haven’t got time this year, Looking forward to your reviews and the other surprises you have upcoming. Thanks for all your sharing and for all the tutorials you do. Lots of quilters use buttons, and I think they like fascinators too, so I suspect your classes will fly at Houston still. Cheers, Gilbert.

Leave a Reply

