Project Update

What a short, strange trip it’s been!

I have just come off of a maddening last few weeks of finishing a couple of competition pieces. Happily, I am done with them and can share the fruits of my labors.

I was racing to meet the deadline for the Pacific International Quilt Festival in California. I made the sign-up deadline by one day. ONE FREAKING DAY!! Seriously, I was up til like 11 trying to get my submission in, BUT IT’S IN!!

I’m probably taking a risk by entering this piece into the vest/jacket/coat category, but I could make a solid argument that there are halter vests, and by definition, this should qualify. Regardless, I have wanted to make something like this for a while, and it feels good to get it out of my system. The title is Vintage Archive. I had no idea what I was going to call this piece until I printed the label. that’s only happened a few times, as I have at least a working title with every garment I make. The cut reminds me of vintage bustier shapes from the early 50’s. All of the seams are outlined in opalescent seed beads and all of the sequin flowers were hand stitched separately then sewn tot he bodice. All of the silk (including the bustier lining) is dupioni. The lining on the inside of the drape is silk screened with gold metallic paint. I’ve had all of these fabrics for about six or seven years now and had no clue what to do with them. One day I ran across them and poof! it all came together.

The second piece I did has been in my sketchbook for a while now, in one shape or another. I’m fascinated with surrealist clothing and a backwards, inside-out jacket seemed to be the way to go. The fabric for the jacket is silk organza over Hobbs Theremore polyester batting. The backing is unbleached, cotton muslin. All of the stitching is done in white polyester and is as close to merit quilting as I’ll ever come. LOL! The collar, pocket flaps and sleeve plackets are all made with horsehair canvas. The idea was to take all fo the fabrics you never see and put them on display. The texture of the quilted organza is odd, but inviting. This is also one of the least embellished pieces I’ve ever made. I think even less than Zapped! Fun fact: Hot Fix crystals don’t stick to horsehair canvas. Not sure if it’s the texture or the fiber, but they pop off like buttons on a tight shirt.
The skirt is multiple layers of cotton muslin and not the original design. Initially, I had a more tailored skirt, but it wasn’t working at all, so I scrapped it and went with this one. I think it makes for a more interesting design. I wanted all of the quilting to look like utilitarian quilts. Kinda like packing blankets and dust cloths. The buttons are hand poured plastic resin. I had a set of vintage buttons I made a mold from, then hand cast them to get the perfect color. I know, I’m annoying like that. This piece is called Accidentaly on Purpose. Yes, it’s misspelled… ON PURPOSE! Get it?!? LOL

Let’s see, what else has been going on…
Oh yeah, my beaded button article in Threads came out! I had fun making the button samples for his one. I love beading and hope you all will give it a try! They are super easy to make. Should be on E-readers and store shelves now.

OK, that’s it for now. I’m planning a few tutorials over the next month, so stay tuned.
OMG fashion week New York starts at the end of the month. ALREADY!!?!?

One thought on “Project Update

  1. Gilbert, I can never find the right words to say what I think about your garments. Stunning always seems the best I can do. Your skills are exemplary!! So glad you entered them in PIQF!!

Leave a Reply

