Updates, updates, updates!

And so I’m back, from outer space…

OMG where has the time gone?
I’ve been so insanely busy, this blog has become a bit of an afterthought.
Sorry about that…

Here are some updates on the Gilbert front:

I wrote an article for Threads magazine!

GO TEAM!

IMG

If you have ever wanted to try cowboy pockets, now’s your chance.
I break it down into simple steps to get great results every time.
Check out the latest issue, on newsstands now!
Newsstands? Do those still exist?
Well, I know you can get a copy online, and Joann’s stores across the country carry them, so go grab one! It’s loaded with a ton of good tips and techniques.

t186-cover-digital-issue_sqm

If you check it out and have any questions, just drop me a line here and I’ll try to help.

*******************************************

I’m going to be teaching in San Antonio this coming weekend. I will doing a couple of workshops for the Fiber Artists of San Antonio. We’ll be screen printing and learning shisha embroidery. I’ll also be giving a lecture on my creative process.
I don’t know how running around and panicking like a chicken with its head cut off translates into a process, but anyhoo.

*******************************************

I’ve started a couple of new projects for some upcoming competitions -I’ll be making some garments, of course.

It’s all sill on the sewing machine, but here is a sneak peak of one of the pieces.
It’s a tailored jacket with a dramatic, standing collar.

13237641_1054647791289037_6482651266173934637_n

Here is the muslin for the jacket. It meets in the center and has a kimono sleeve.

The fabric for the piece, all hand-screen printed:

Here are some of the assembled blocks:

20160619_152025

And here is a sample of the un-sewn center medallion:

20160629_215237-1

It will all be quilted and embellished within an inch of its life, hopefully.

The other piece is still, in pieces. I can tell you that it will be a mix of my recent indigo experiments. It’s more involved than the printed piece, so here’s hoping I don’t lose my mind in the next two months. *clinks glasses*

OK, that’s it for now.

Couture week is going on and I plan on doing a best/worst list soon.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

